Whenever a user is doing something, such as adding a new allergy to the chart, or placing a medication order, or writing a note, they have several options on what they can do

  1. They can delete what they are working on.
  2. They can move what they are working on to a drafts folder to complete later
  3. They can sign off and complete what they are working on.


Current: preferred example


Close Button Popup


Some Thoughts

Close 

Move to drafts

Sign & add allergy




Table of ways out of something


ScenarioClose Button

Close button popup messageOptions

Move to drafts buttonSign & submit buttonComments....
add new allergyClose

Do you want to save this new allergy?

  • No, delete
  • Yes, move to drafts
Move to draftsSign & add new allergy
update old allergyClose

Do you want to save your changes?

  • No, cancel changes
  • Yes, move to drafts 
Move to draftsSign & update allergy
delete allergyClose

Do you want to save your changes?

  • No, cancel changes

  • Yes, move to drafts

Move to draftsDelete existing allergy






add new orderClose

Do you want to save this new order

  • No, delete

  • Yes, move to drafts


Sign & add new order
update orderClose

Do you want to save your changes?

  • No, cancel changes
  • Yes, move to drafts

Sign & update order
delete orderClose

Delete existing order






add new noteClose

Do you wan to save this new note?

  • No, delete
  • Yes, move to drafts



update noteClose

Do you want to save your changes?

  • No, cancel changes

  • Yes, move to drafts




delete noteClose

Do you want to 


Delete existing note


NOTE: if the close button is pressed in any scenario, and the user hasn't yet added anything to the form; automatically close the file without prompting the close message.



Old close message options

Delete

Move to drafts

Save updates to drafts





Other / Older examples