Wiki Spaces

Documentation
Projects
Resources

Get Help from Others

Q&A: Ask OpenMRS
Discussion: OpenMRS Talk
Real-Time: IRC Chat | Slack

Resources

Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

About this Session

Over the years, OpenMRS implementers have built out common features in their own, custom frontends, using different technologies. This has led to development happening in siloes instead of collaboratively. With our new frontend technology, we can reduce barriers to sharing frontend features - and collaboratively develop new features. Collaboration, however, does not magically happen. This session will introduce you to the community tools, practices, and conventions that make collaboration on OpenMRS 3.0 and OHRI package features possible.

Session Objectives

By the end of this session, you will be able to:

  1. Identify key factors that influence and enable technical collaboration
  2. Describe three community guidelines that enable collaboration 
  3. Use the right community communication tool for your purpose
  4. Explain how decisions are made in the OpenMRS community
  5. Distinguish between shared assets and implementation-specific assets
  6. Discuss how key conventions that govern technical collaboration in the OpenMRS community are used to build OpenMRS 3.0 & OHRI features.

Estimated Time

Up to 1 hours 45 minutes

Slide Deck (10 min)

Considerations for Making Collaboration on OpenMRS Priorities Happen

Video (5 min)

Foundation for Collaboration: Community Code of Conduct & Communication Conventions

Video (5 min)

Foundation for Collaboration: Decision Making Plays & Design System Case Study

Video (8 min)

Collaboratively Developing OpenMRS 3.0 & OHRI package: Technical Tools & Practices

Video (8 min)

What Are Shared Assets? What Are Implementation-Specific Assets?

Optional Reading (5 min)

Factors Influencing the Success of Collaboration

Optional Reading (10 min)

Guide: Principle: Be Collaborative

Join the discussion (50 min)

When: October 12 at 7:30pm IST | 5pm Nairobi | 4pm Cape Town | 2pm UTC | 10am Boston | 7am Seattle

Take the Quiz! (15 min)

  • No labels